رغم أن اسمه اللاتيني يعني الطائر الجارح آكل النحل، إلا أن في الحقيقة، تتكون وجبات حوام النحل الأوروبي المفضلة من الدبابير ويرقاتها، تساعده مخالبه القوية المدببة وريشه الأشبه بالحراشف حول رأسه في نبش أعشاش الدبابير دون التعرض للسعاتها الغاضبة، ويعتقد أيضاً أن ريشه مغطى بمادة كيميائية طاردة للدبابير.
باع الجناح: 130- 150 سم
السرعة القصوى80 كم/ ساعة
الأخطار: الصيد بالقنص, تدمير بيئات الموئل

الهجرة

A flight for survival

يحب طائرنا العزلة في العموم، إلا أن في موسم الهجرة، تراه محلقاً مع السرب. في تلك الرحلة الملحمية، يستخدم حوام النحل المجال المغناطيسي للأرض، وذاكرته البصرية الخارقة، في تحديد طريقه من مواطن تكاثره في أوروبا وحتى مشتاه الإستوائي في أفريقيا.

كطائر حوام، يتجنب حوام النحل الطيران فوق مسطحات مائية كبيرة لغياب تيارات الهواء الحرارية الصاعدة، والتي ينزلق عليها محلقاً دون الاحتياج لخفق جناحيه. لذلك، نرى أسراباً عملاقة متجهة نحو مضائق البحر المتوسط، مثل مضيق جبل طارق، ومضيق مسينة الذي يقع على الطرف الجنوبي لإيطاليا.

كان مضيق مسينة –وحتى أواخر الثمانينيات- أسوأ البؤر للصيد غير القانوني للطيور الجارحة. كان ما يقارب من 5000 حوام نحل يُصادون بالبنادق سنوياً. ولكن بفضل المجهودات الدئوبة للمنظمات البيئية المحلية منذ أوائل الثمانينيات، وتطبيق أكثر إحكاماً للقانون، انخفضت معدلات القتل إلى حوالي 100 حالة سنوياً.

ادعمنا

LIPU (The Italian League for the Protection of Birds)

LIPU، شريك BirdLife International، هي المنظمة البيئية الرائدة لحماية الطيور البرية وموائلها في إيطاليا. ادعمنا كي نساعدهم للقضاء على الصيد غير القانوني هنا وفي مسارات الهجرة..

كان يبدو وضع الصيد غير القانوني في جنوب إيطاليا يائساً، إلى أن بدأ شركاؤنا في The Italian League for the Protection of Birds (LIPU) في إقامة معسكرات سنوية ضد الصيد غير القانوني، وبدأت المفاهيم المحلية بالتغيير رويداً، وشرعت الشرطة الإقليمية بالتعاون مع العاملين في المنظمة ومتطوعينها. يقدر عدد حوام النحل الذي تم إنقاذه في الثلاثين عاماً الماضية ب 85 ألف طائر. ورغم أن ذلك يعتبر انتصاراً ملهماً ومشجعاً، إلا أن القتل غير المشروع للطيور مستمر في مناطق أخرى في إيطاليا. ولكن بمساعدتك، يمكن لLIPU توسيع ذلك النجاح لحماية قنبرة الغيط من القنص غير القانوني في بوليا، أو إنقاذ أبي قلنسوة وطيور مغردة أخرى من الاصطياد غير المشروع في سردينيا.

يمكنك حماية الطيور المهاجرة المهددة في إيطاليا وعلى مسار الطيران الأفرو-أوراسي بالتبرع لحملة BirdLife International- Flight for Survival

تبرع

ساهم
الآن

العربية

Though its Latin name Pernis apivorus means “bee-eating bird of prey”, the European honey-buzzard feeds mainly on wasps and hornets.

This sharp-eyed raptor shifts around its woodland perch, restlessly ruffling its wings, as it waits to catch sight of its next meal. With long powerful talons and natural armour of scale-like feathers around the head, it is perfectly built to dig deep into a wasp’s nest and brave the stings of the angry swarm inside.

Wingspan: 130-150 cm
Top speed: 80 km/h
Threats: Shooting, Habitat loss

MIGRATION

A flight for survival

Honey-buzzards are typically solitary, except on migration, when they flock together. On this epic flight, they use the earth’s magnetic field and their remarkable visual memory to find their way between their European breeding grounds and their wintering areas in tropical Africa.

As a soaring bird, it avoids large expanses of water due to the absence of rising air currents on which it glides. This drives huge flocks towards the narrowest sea crossings around the Mediterranean, such as the Gibraltar Strait or the Messina Strait.

Until about 30 years ago, the Messina Strait at the southern tip of Italy was one of Europe’s worst blackspots for illegal killing of raptors. As many as 5000 honey-buzzards were unlawfully shot here every year. But thanks to the tireless work of local environmental NGOs since the early 1980s and better law enforcement, the death toll has fallen to about 100 annual casualties.

Help us

The poaching situation in southern Italy seemed hopeless. After our partner, LIPU, began running annual anti-poaching camps, local attitudes slowly started changing and regional police began to work alongside NGO staff and volunteers. At least 85 000 honey-buzzards are estimated to have been saved over the last three decades. As inspiring as this victory is, the illegal killing of birds persists in other parts of Italy. But with your help, LIPU can expand this success to protect skylarks from illegal shooting in Puglia or to save blackcaps and other songbirds from illegal trapping in Sardinia.

BirdLife International Partner, LIPU, is the leading environmental NGO for the protection of wild birds and their habitats in Italy. Help us to help them stop the killing here and along the flyways.

LIPU (The Italian League for the Protection of Birds)

ACT
NOW

You can save threatened migratory birds in Italy and along the African-Eurasian flyway with a donation to BirdLife International’s Flight for Survival campaign.

DONATE